Reasons to be proud!

On Saturday, October 22nd, the Air Cadet League – OPC, hosted their 75th Annual General Meeting.  It was a great day with many attendees from the OPC, Squadron staff members, Community Supporters, and other special invited guests.

There were many moments of recognition for the 2 VandenBos squadron starting first with recognition a senior cadet, Fsgt. Alexander Wainwright.  He attended a senior cadet workshop followed with lunch and presentations.   Fsgt. Wainwright received an award certificate from the Honorable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, OC, OOnt., Lieutenant Governor to recognize his success as 2016 Top Overall Glider Pilot Graduate.  Attending the lunch, and there to celebrate with him, were his mom, grandparents, Mr. & Mrs. Bill Erwin, SSC members Lisa Codlin, Barbara Luba, Bill Rankin and Nikki Tsimiklis as well as Commanding Officer, Major Burns.

The day continued with various activities to be wrapped up with a dinner and additional presentations.  Those representing 2 VandenBos were pleased to hear Lieutenant Keith Wainwright called to receive Ontario’s CIC Jr. Officer Award of Excellence.  In his typical committed fashion, he was away on a training exercise to benefit the cadets even further.  We are excited for our cadets that our leaders are being recognized for their contributions.

And it didn’t stop there … to add to these memorable moments was the announcement that 2 VandenBos squadron was the recipient of the Moir Trophy for the top squadron in Eastern Ontario.  A huge congratulations and thank you to all of the staff and volunteers that made this recognition possible.  We also want to congratulate our friends in Oshawa at 151 Chadburn squadron who received the Westman Trophy for top squadron in Ontario.

Lastly but just as important … no we’re not done yet … was the presentation from the National President of the OPC, Don Berrill.  He presented the President’s coin to 3 outstanding leaders who in his words ‘are the people you want to emulate’.  These leaders included LCol (ret) Ted Gilbank, Maj Garry Burns and Maj (ret) David Brown.

The honors shared at all levels of the squadron are timely as we build momentum in another training year with a growing squadron full of talented, inspiring youth being led by talented staff and dedicated volunteers.

We look forward to celebrating our cadets and staff at the Change of Command parade on Friday, Oct. 28 @ 8:15pm at Donald A. Wilson Secondary School.